Day 6: Take the Challenge!

31 Jan

I’m back!   However, I need to let you know that I may go pretty slow today.  While staying in Tucson, I stayed in the ER and did a lot of tests and even a CT scan…but they found nothing and said I am a very healthy person in general.  They had no idea about my symptoms.   However, right now, my stomach hurts so badly that I don’t want to eat anything.  I am pretty weak right now, but I will try my best to help you today.  Also because of this sickness, I feel sorry that I couldn’t finish reading your assignments.  I will give them back to you all next Tuesday. Thanks for understanding.

PART I: LEARNING ENVIRONMENT EXHIBITION

I checked your e-portfolio last night and found only a few of you have completed the project of designing a learning environment.  Let’s take a look of their projects and give them some feedback.

PART II: TECHNOLOGY AND THE LEARNING ENVIRONMENT

Do you think that technology also changes the classroom?  Think about the learning environment you and your peers designed, what does technology integration look like in a K-12 classroom?  Do you learn technology or do you learn WITH technology?  Are there any other different kinds of 21st century classroom?

There are 5 characteristics of a meaningful learning environment and there are 5 levels of technology integration in the classroom. Let’s watch a short video clip of a meaningful learning environment where technology is an integral part. Where would you place this lesson on the matrix? How about this lesson? How about your favorite activities from your own school experience? How do these characteristics compare to the characteristics of effective technology-supported content learning tasks from Chapter 2 in your text?

PART III: FIGHT WITH KING KOOPA AND RELEASE YOUR PRINCESS TOADSTOOL!

There are so many things I want you to know about teaching in K12 learning environments. Each of you is from a different background, has different interests, and different motivations for learning — alot like the students you will teach.

Teaching is not an easy job.  It can be very challenging.  As we mentioned before, the most difficult thing probably is to know your students.  Therefore, I want to challenge you to go through our Boot Camp website.  Each of you need to complete three pages of the website and complete this form.  If you miss the class today, you need to do four pages.

For Thursday:

1.  Finish your learning environment.

2. Finish your Teacher Boot Camp Response.

 

 

Leave a Reply

